The Busy-Girl Tuna Ceviche

So I don’t know about you but I usually find myself so overwhelmed by everyday life. I feel as if I have so much to do but never enough time! Personally I think it’s because I was so busy a few months back, and now that I have more time on my hands I am still trying to catch up on a lot of tasks that have been building up for the past few months. I am a girl who truly enjoys cooking, but during my busiest days I can’t find the energy to cook a decent meal, especially with all the cleaning that follows (FORGET IT). Being raised by a mother who was always busy (working full-time and being involved in church) but also loved to cook, I learned a few valuable shortcuts for whipping up quick meals. She enjoyed making this fresh chicken salad she came up with to eat on tostadas. It basically contains all the same ingredients (except for a few extra veggies she added, she’s big on healthy eating) as a traditional ceviche made of fish. The main difference was using canned chicken instead of fresh fish, which would have to be left “cooking” in the lemon juice for at least an hour.Ceviche 1   As a newly committed pescetarian I’ve taken this same concept but instead replaced the canned chicken with canned tuna. It can ease your craving of a fresh batch of traditional ceviche and be ready in less than half an hour! Also, since the tuna is canned you can purchase it in bulk and keep it stored for weeks, ready for those lazy days where you don’t feel like cooking but also don’t want to eat out. ceviche 1.4You can also add extra ingredients or take away a few if you’re used to your ceviche differently. For instance, if you want less heat you can ditch the cayenne pepper powder, as well as discard the seeds when cutting your jalapeño. Some people also prefer having mayo spread on the tostada before topping it with ceviche. This is all up to you. Enjoy!
ceviche 1.3

The Busy-Girl Tuna Ceviche
Prep: 20 mins
Serves 4
 
Ingredients
2 12 oz. cans of tuna (in water)
3 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 cucumber, chopped
1/4 large white onion, finely chopped
1 large jalapeño, seeds can be kept for heat
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
Juice of 2-3 lemons
Dash of cayenne pepper powder, to taste
Salt, to taste
Pepper, to taste
 
Tostadas
 
Preparation
Empty both cans of tuna into a large bowl and tear apart chunks with a fork. Then combine all vegetables, lemon juice and seasonings into the bowl and mix thoroughly. Spoon ceviche mixture onto your first tostada and spread evenly. Tostadas should be assembled as you eat, because they will get soggy if the ceviche sits on top of it for more than a few minutes. I personally like to add a drizzle of my favorite hot sauce on top, as well as avocado slices. Yum! 

Enhanced by Zemanta

One thought on “The Busy-Girl Tuna Ceviche

Leave a Reply

