My Latest Obsession: Depop

Before I begin, SORRY FOR NOT BEING CONSISTENT WITH MY POSTS LATELY! I’ve just been busy with a lot of things, but I promise that I will be giving my blog more attention in the weeks to come. I already have a couple of ideas for my next posts, so be sure to be on the lookout for them! So, back to THIS post…. Depop. Have you heard of it? It’s an app that many will describe as a mix between eBay and Instagram. Now, I LOVE eBay and I LOVE Instagram so of course I’m all over it. It provides the ability to purchase items (predominantly women’s clothing) on a social network platform. Let me draw out the picture for you: imagine being able to sell your unused or lightly worn clothing by simply taking a picture from your phone, uploading it to the app, editing it with filters, naming any price for the item and shipping, then being able to use hashtags to direct people to your item. Other Depop users can then follow your account, “like” or comment on your item, private message you with questions and even buy directly from your post via PayPal. It’s f**king awesome! Then of course there’s also the option of being able to meet with your buyer (if they live nearby) to exchange your item for their payment, but I’d personally rather ship it to them and have them pay directly to my PayPal account to avoid the hassle. There’s also an option to “swap” items with another Depop user, if what you’re looking for is new clothes rather than gaining mula.

Seriously, I’ve been hooked on this app for about 2-3 weeks now. I’ll spend an embarrassing amount of time looking through people’s profiles and items throughout the day. Since most of the items have been gently used, users will sell them for cheaper than retail price (this also goes for many name brand pieces… eeeeep!). I’ve just started to become serious about posting items to sell and am hoping to sell something very soon! And just a few days ago I made my first purchase so I’m really excited for my item to come in the mail. A little bit of background info on this app, it started in the UK and because of this its main market also remains in the UK. So as you travel through the app you will come across a lot of UK users and sometimes they aren’t willing to ship internationally, which is a bummer. But don’t let that get you down! Keep searching and I’m sure you’ll come across items you love and want from US users or users willing to ship internationally. So what are you waiting for!? Download the app RIGHT NOW, and while you’re at it, follow me and show me some love!

Until next time babes. xx

Depop: stphmrie

 

depop3depop4depop5depopdepop2

Leave a Reply

